Get to know the used motor vehicle you're interested in by performing a Georgia license plate lookup or also called a license plate search. It's the best way to learn about vehicle history and ensure your safety against car fraud.
Performing a license plate search in the state only needs you to have the car's license plate number. It can help in finding the owner and vehicle information, lienholder or report a suspicious vehicle. As a Georgia resident, a license plate lookup or license plate search can be done online or request details from the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR).
For the state of Georgia, there are different personalized license plate categories available such as a specialty license plate, standard designs, and more. These are only available for a private passenger vehicle. You need to visit your County Tag Office for application. Bring the standard requirements like driver's license, and payment for the tag fee. You can use a credit card or any means of payment. Other types like a vanity plate is also available.
Aside from the Georgia license plate lookup, we also have a vehicle-specific search method called VIN lookup. Instead of the Georgia license plate number, you'll use the VIN number for searching. This will show you the vehicle history, car citations, lien, and more.
Based on state law, for any standard vehicle, the license plate number size is going to be 6"x12" except for motorcycle plates.
Georgia law requires every vehicle to be renewed within 30 days before the birthday of the vehicle owner.
For new residents for whatever county, whether it's the vehicle owner, the registered owner or the lienholder, they need to register within 30 days from the date they moved to Georgia. If it's a resident (casual sale), they have 7 business days from the date of purchase. Do your motor vehicle registration at any County Tag Office Fees will apply for any registration done like ad valorem tax or property tax based on the information provided by the tax commissioner's office. Prioritize in getting the Georgia title for your car. Also remember that cars that have a gross vehicle weight of 10,0001 lbs above is considered commercial motor vehicles. If the car is leased, the leasing company should take care of it for you, including any registration renewal.
For Georgia driver's license plates, you can either destroy, return or transfer the plates to a new vehicle.
For any vehicle registration renewal or tag renewal, simply go to any tag office. A renewal notice is sent by the start of your registration month. Georgia state registration for your tag number renewal is required, if not, a penalty will apply if you're unable to do so. You can renew them online, at a self-service kiosk (depending on the county) or at your local tag office.