One vehicle owner can never be too cautious before buying a new or old vehicle from a dealer or a person. For the driver and public safety, a Connecticut license plate lookup is advisable to know the vehicle history and driving record.
Connecticut DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) has a way to verify car registration on their website. It's a self-service tool that will require you to provide the plate number and class so you can do a search on the car registration. Aside from CT DMV, another way to perform license plate search is via third-party sites.
The Connecticut department has options for vehicle owners to have a personalized license plate or vanity plate. The CT DMV has an online service that allows individuals and organizations to order special or vanity license plates. You need to check for any state vehicle compliance issue (car taxes, parking tickets, commercial vehicle safety record, emission testing, insurance requirements and registration privilege suspension) to avoid delays in processing the request for a personalized plate.
It's great to perform a Connecticut license plate lookup before getting one since it must have an existing registration in the state before you can order a special plate and must not have any delinquent tax to get your replacement plates.
If license plate search is not enough then do a VIN lookup. It will dive into more vehicle-specific details like the make and model of a car, engine details, and another vehicle history. This is also required by the DMV office for some vehicle registration that it must undergo a VIN verification.
The license plates use the standard size of 12" by 6". The license plate number must be clearly seen at all times. Two plates are given which are to be placed at the front and back of the vehicle.
Connecticut will send out a renewal notice around 60 days prior to the expiration of your existing registration. The state requires that a vehicle registration be renewed every 2 years. There’s a 30-day grace period when your registration expires but you’ll be charged after 5 days of expiration.
As a motorist, you need to be aware of the rules in the state before anything else, that's why a license plate search is important. Motor vehicle assessments are a good start after performing a tag search.
There's a local property tax for registered and non-registered vehicles, a new vehicle or not. You still need to file a declaration to your assessor. It's best to contact your tax collector's office about the computation.
In Connecticut, there’s a uniform assessment date which is October 1 Grand List and which is due every July 1 while the supplemental bill is every January 1. You can visit your assessor's office for more details about the tax bill.
Registrations are by appointment at DMV offices or through the dealer. The transaction will go through the DMV online system and then forwarded by the dealer to Connecticut DMV. Dealer transactions has their motor vehicle tax, service fees and options.
Cancellation of your registration is needed when you are moving out of state or don't use the car. You also have the option to transfer it to a replacement vehicle or place it on hold. You can take it to the local DMV office or mail it in for the returns. A copy of your plate receipt should be available after.
If ever the plates are damaged or stolen, go to the local law enforcement agency and file a police report, get a copy of the report and get a replacement immediately.
The registration renewal process in Connecticut can be done in person, by mail or online. Ready your requirements like driver's license, renewal PIN (if online), and other necessary documents.